Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Review - DATING YOU/HATING YOU by Christina Lauren

Publisher: Gallery Books
Pub. Date: June 6,2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Source: Print ARC from pub
Rating: 5

All’s fair in love and work. The first standalone romance by New York Times and #1 international bestselling author Christina Lauren (Beautiful Bastard) is a sexy, compulsively readable romantic comedy that dives headlong into the thrill and doubt of modern love.

Despite the odds against them from an embarrassing meet-awkward at a mutual friend’s Halloween party, Carter and Evie immediately hit it off. Even the realization that they’re both high-powered agents at competing firms in Hollywood isn’t enough to squash the fire.

But when their two agencies merge—causing the pair to vie for the same position—all bets are off. What could have been a beautiful, blossoming romance turns into an all-out war of sabotage. Carter and Evie are both thirtysomething professionals—so why can’t they act like it?

Can Carter stop trying to please everyone and see how their mutual boss is really playing the game? Can Evie put aside her competitive nature long enough to figure out what she really wants in life? Can their actor clients just be something close to human? Whether these two Hollywood love/hatebirds get the storybook Hollywood ending or just a dramedy of epic proportions, you will get to enjoy Christina Lauren’s heartfelt, raucous, and hilarious romance style at its finest.

Dating you Review

Okay, what can I say that hasn't already been said? Christina Lauren has hit it out of the park with this one. I can honestly say that this particular book by them may be one of my favorites to date. It was fun, flirty, sexy, and had me grinning from the first page. Fans of The Hating Game, I think this one will be right up your alley!

Evie and Carter meet in the cutest way. I know that if I were to ever meet someone and hit it off, it would most definitely be the way they met. Dating You/Hating You is the classic love/hate, arch-nemesis but 'secretly want to bang you' story. It's the type of story that won't ever play out, at least in my eyes, because it's so rich in angst and romance. The two leads were absolutely amazing, and I enjoyed their witty banter. I kind of wish their was a little more "hate" scenes though!

You might think you see the synopsis for what it is and immediately think that it's just like every other romance  book you've read. But I can assure you, it's completely unique! I adored everything from Carter and Evie, to the supporting cast, and most of all I loved how insanely romantic it was. Two people falling in love but then start an all out war over a job they both want? What's not to love!? 

Now, days later, I'm still thinking of our two delicious main characters. Readers, I think you'll be more than happy once your able to get your hands on this baby. It's sexiness blown up times a hundred. I stayed up all night reading the book and I can guarantee you it was well worth it. Who needs sleep when you absolutely can't pull your eyes away from a world an author created? Especially, when inside the book, there's a sexy man just waiting for you to read him!

*Thank you to the publisher for providing a copy for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 
Buy the Book:

About the Author Duo:
Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of long-time writing partners/besties/soulmates/brain-twins Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings. The coauthor duo writes both Young Adult and Adult Fiction, and together has produced fourteen New York Times bestselling novels. Their books have been translated into 31+ languages. (Some of these books have kissing. Some of these books have A LOT of kissing.)

We don't respond to private messages here, so please contact us via twitter (@seeCwrite for Christina and @LolaShoes for Lauren) or our site. Thank you!!

No comments

Post a Comment

© The Lovely Books. All rights reserved.