Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Review - THE YOUNG WIVES CLUB by Julie Pennell

Publisher: Atria
Published: February 14, 2017
Genre: Women's Fiction
Source: E-ARC
Rating: 4

In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives. 

Laura Landry’s quarterback husband was her ticket out of Toulouse. But when a devastating football injury sidelines him, they’re forced to move back to the small town she was so desperate to leave. As Brian starts drinking instead of rehabbing his knee, Laura must reevaluate what her future looks like…and if it includes her husband.

For years, Madison Blanchette has been waiting for bad-boy musician Cash Romero to commit to her. When wealthy George Dubois asks her out, she figures she may as well wait in style. Life with George means weekend trips to New Orleans, gourmet meals, and expensive gifts. At first she loves how George’s affection sparks Cash’s jealousy, but when George proposes to Madison, she finds herself torn between two men…

All Claire Thibodeaux wants is to be the perfect wife and mother. If she can do everything right she won’t end up like her mom, a divorced, single parent trying to make ends meet. But when Claire’s husband Gavin, a well-respected local pastor, starts spending late nights at work and less time in their bed, she can’t help but fear that history is about to repeat itself…

Gabrielle Vaughn never thought she’d end up with someone like her fiancĂ©. The son of a prominent congressman, Tony Ford is completely out of her league—which is why she lied to him about everything from having a college degree to the dark truth about her family. She knows she has to come clean, but how do you tell the love of your life that your entire relationship is a lie?

As these young wives come together to help each other through life, love, and heartbreak, they discover that there are no easy answers when it comes to matters of the heart.

This is what reading is all about. The type of book that makes you feel and one that makes you think. The Young Wives Club is just the type of book that has all of that and more. The girls of the book were so damn relate-able and so damn awesome that I could cry tears of joy. I was able to relate to each and every one of them in some kind of way. In the end, the book teaches us a very important lesson; follow your dreams, do you, and don't let anyone try to tell you how to live your life. Empowerment. If I could describe the book in one word, it would be empowerment. 

We follow the individual stories of four friends as they go through life, love, love lost, betrayal, lies, and eventually finding ones self. I won't go into each one of the girls stories but each and every one of them show us how life sometimes has a different plan in store for each and every one of us. They struggled but found a way to come or on top and do what they thought best for themselves. Men. We all love men. But they aren't what makes us who we are. And I think the book showed us that as women, we have so much more potential if we just believe in ourselves. 

I love that. And I love this story so much. Sure, some of the story lines left me a little disappointed (I'm looking at you Cash) but overall, I fell in love. I want another book like this but for now I guess I'll settle with reading more books from the author. Fall in love me and get this wonderful book! 

*Thank you to the publisher for providing a copy for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Buy the Books:

About the Author:
Julie Pennell grew up in Shreveport, Louisiana, where she ate her weight in crawfish, used the word “y’all” a lot, and wrote a weekly Teen Scene column for the local paper. After graduating with a degree in journalism from Louisiana Tech University, she moved to New York City to work at Seventeen magazine and later Alloy Entertainment as a digital editor. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and is a regular online contributor to Teen Vogue, TODAY, and The Nest, among other publications. The Young Wives Club is her first novel.

No comments

Post a Comment

© The Lovely Books. All rights reserved.